DHS’ Election Security Efforts Should Focus on Aging Technology, Not on Denying the Right to Vote of Eligible Americans.

After months of silence from the Presidential Advisory Commission on Election Integrity, President Trump has disbanded the group and declared that the investigation will move to the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

“This is a victory for Americans who value voting rights and fair elections, the true tenets of integrity in our democracy, said Carolyn DeWitt, president of Rock the Vote. “The Trump administration says that the commission’s work will move to DHS, where they are already working on election security following the discovering of foreign interference in the 2016 election. Dozens of states urgently require assistance to upgrade aging election technology and this should be the federal government’s priority on voting.

“Kris Kobach, former vice-chair of the election integrity commission, has said he wants DHS to cross-reference voter and immigration data to conduct voter list maintenance. This method was already determined to be wildly inaccurate in multiple court cases. To pursue this would be an attack on the next generation of voters–including immigrant youth who will be the first in their families to be eligible to vote.”

“Rock the Vote will remain vigilant to ensure DHS stays in its lane on election administration. Any signal that DHS intends to threaten the freedom to vote of eligible Americans will be met with a relentless and forceful protest.”

Carolyn DeWitt, president of Rock the Vote, is available to discuss how the Trump administration’s work could affect the political power of young people.

About Rock the Vote

Rock the Vote is a nonpartisan nonprofit dedicated to building the political power of young people. For over 25 years, Rock the Vote has revolutionized the way we use pop culture, music, art and technology to engage young people in politics, registering and turning out millions of young voters on campuses, in communities, and online. Learn more at rockthevote.org and follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram at @rockthevote.