Early Voting

Alabama

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Alabama with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters can use the excuse “physical illness/disability” to request an absentee ballot.

To request an absentee ballot in Alabama, write or visit the local Absentee Election Manager (usually the Circuit Clerk) and provide the necessary information via a printed application form.

Click here to track your Alabama absentee ballot.

To return your Alabama absentee ballot, you can either mail it back or deliver it in person to the Absentee Election Manager (usually the Circuit Clerk). A designee may return your ballot in person in case of emergency absentee voting. Your ballot must be witnessed by two people or notarized. If hand-delivered, your ballot must be received by the close of business, but no later than 5pm, on the day prior to Election Day.

Photo ID is required to vote in Alabama. Valid forms of ID include:
- Valid Driver's License (not expired or has been expired less than 60 days)
- Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Digital Driver's License
- Valid Non-driver ID (not expired or has been expired less than 60 days)
- Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Digital Non-driver ID
- Valid Alabama Photo Voter ID
- Valid State Issued ID (Alabama or any other state)
- Valid AL Department of Corrections Release- Temporary ID (Photo Required)
- Valid AL Movement/Booking Sheet from Prison/Jail System (Photo Required)
- Valid Pistol Permit (Photo Required)
- Valid Federal Issued ID
- Valid US Passport
- Valid Employee ID from Federal Government, State of Alabama, County Government, Municipality, Board, Authority, or other entity of this state
- Valid student or employee ID from a college or university in the State of Alabama (including postgraduate technical or professional schools)
- Valid Military ID
- Valid Tribal ID

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you are eligible for a free Alabama photo voter ID, which you can obtain from various locations including the Secretary of State's Office, local county board of registrars' offices, and a mobile location to determined by the Secretary of State's Office. You must provide the following information (all of which can be contained in one document):
- A photo identification document or a non-photo identification document is acceptable if it contains your full legal name and date of birth
- Documentation showing your date of birth
- Documentation showing that you are an Alabama registered voter (can be electronically verified by the processing office)
- Documentation showing your name and address as reflected in your voter registration record (can be electronically verified by the processing office).

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can either vote a provisional ballot or vote a regular ballot if you are identified by two election officials as an eligible voter on the poll list, and both election workers sign a sworn affidavit so stating. If you vote a provisional ballot, you have until 5:00PM on the Friday after the election to bring the required ID.

Alabama does not offer in-person early voting.

You can pre-register to vote in Alabama if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Alabama has open primaries. Voters do not register with a particular party, but a voter who participates in one party’s primary may only vote in that party’s primary runoff election. If a voter did not participate in a party’s primary election, then they may choose either party’s ballot in a primary runoff election. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Alabama does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Alaska

In Alaska, the terms “vote by mail” and “absentee voting” refer to the same process.

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Alaska.

To request an absentee ballot in Alaska, apply online if you have an Alaska driver’s license or state ID, or complete a fillable PDF, print, sign, and mail, fax, or email it in. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Alaska absentee ballot.

To return your Alaska absentee ballot, mail in your ballot using the provided return mailing envelope. Your ballot must be witnessed.

Photo ID is required to vote in Alaska. Valid forms of ID include:
- Voter ID card
- Driver’s license
- State ID
- Military ID
- Passport
- Hunting or fishing license
- Other current or valid photo ID

If you do not have one of the identifications listed above, you may present:
- A current utility bill or paycheck
- A government check or bank statement
- Other government issued document.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, an election official may waive the identification requirement if the election official knows the identity of the voter. Otherwise, you will vote a questioned ballot. You will sign a questioned ballot register and complete a questioned ballot envelope with your information. You will then vote your ballot, place it inside a secrecy sleeve and then place it inside of the questioned ballot envelope. The questioned ballot will go to a review board who will determine if your ballot can be counted. The information on the outside of the envelope is used to register you to vote or update your registration information (when applicable). A letter will be sent to you if your ballot was rejected or partially counted to tell you the reason.

Alaska offers early and in-person absentee voting and no excuse is required. Early and in-person absentee voting begins 15 days prior to Election Day and ends the day before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Alaska if you are within 90 days of your 18th birthday.

Alaska holds semi-open statewide primaries. For Republican primaries, Republicans, nonpartisans, or undeclared voters may participate. Any registered voter can participate in the Democratic/Independence Party primary elections, regardless of political party. Alaska does not hold presidential primaries. 17-year-olds can not vote in the Democratic primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Alabama does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Arizona

No excuse is needed to vote a ballot-by-mail in Arizona.

To request a ballot by mail in Arizona, apply online, call or email your County Recorder, or submit a printed form. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Arizona ballot by mail.

To return your Arizona ballot by mail, mail it in using the return mailing envelope, or drop it off at any ballot drop box, drop-off location, early voting location, or Election Day voting location in your county.

Photo ID is required
to vote in Arizona. There are three ways of fulfilling the ID requirement:

List #1: Submit one document from the following list:
- Valid Arizona driver's license
- Valid Arizona non-driver identification
- Tribal enrollment card or other form of tribal identification
- Valid U.S. federal, state or local government issued identification

List #2: If you don’t have any of the documents from List #1, you can show two documents from the following list:
- Utility bill of the elector that is dated within 90 days of the date of the election
- Bank or credit union statement that is dated within 90 days of the date of the election
- Valid Arizona Vehicle Registration
- Indian census card
- Property tax statement of the elector's residence
- Tribal enrollment card or other form of tribal identification
- Arizona vehicle insurance card
- Recorder's Certificate
- Valid United States federal, state, or local government-issued identification, including a voter registration card issued by the County Recorder
- Any mailing to the elector marked “Official Election Material”

List #3: If you don’t have two documents from List #2, you can show:
- Any valid photo identification from List 1 in which the address does not reasonably match the precinct register accompanied by a non-photo identification from List 2 in which the address does reasonably match the precinct register
- U.S. Passport without address and one valid item from List 2
- U.S. Military identification without address and one valid item from List 2

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote using a conditional provisional ballot. This ballot will be valid and counted as long you provide valid identification to your polling location before 7:00 pm on Election Day. Alternatively, you have up to five business days after a general election and three business days after any other election to provide your identification to your county elections office.

Arizona offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 27 days before Election Day and ends the Friday before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Arizona if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Arizona has open primaries. For a Presidential Preference Election (PPE), only voters registered with a participating party can vote as Arizona does not classify a PPE as a primary election. For primaries, registered independent voters may choose one party's primary ballot to vote on and will remain independent for future elections. Voters enrolled with a party must vote in their party’s primary.

Arizona does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Arkansas

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Arkansas with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters can use the excuse “physical illness/disability” to request an absentee ballot.

To request an absentee ballot in Arkansas, complete an application, print, sign, and mail to your county clerk. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Arkansas absentee ballot.

To return your Arkansas absentee ballot, return it in person to your county clerk the day before the election, or return via mail or a designated bearer by Election Day.

Photo ID is required to vote in Arkansas. An ID is acceptable if it meets all of the following requirements:
- Shows the name of the person to whom the document or identification card was issued
- Shows a photograph of the person to whom the document or identification card was issued
- Is issued by the United States, the State of Arkansas, or an accredited postsecondary educational institution in the State of Arkansas
- If displaying an expiration date, is not expired or expired no more than four (4) years before the date of the election in which the voter seeks to vote

Valid forms of ID include:
- Driver's license.
- Photo identification card
- Concealed handgun carry license
- United States passport
- Employee badge or identification document issued by an accredited postsecondary educational institution in the State of Arkansas
- United States military identification document
- Public assistance identification card if the card shows a photograph of the person to whom the document or identification card was issued
- Voter verification card under § 7-5-324.

Note: A document or identification card may be presented in a digital format on an electronic device if it complies with other requirements and has been approved or issued by the U.S., the state of Arkansas, or an accredited post-secondary educational institution.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. Provisional ballots cast in this manner will be counted if:

(a) The voter completes a sworn statement at the polling site stating that the voter is registered to vote in this state and that he or she is the person registered to vote, and the county board of election commissioners does not determine that the provisional ballot is invalid and should not be counted based on other grounds, or

(b) The voter returns to the county board of election commissioners or the county clerk by 12:00 noon on the Monday following the election and presents a document or identification card meeting the requirements described above, and the county board of election commissioners does not determine that the provisional ballot is invalid and should not be counted based on other grounds.

Arkansas offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 7 to 15 days prior to Election Day and ends the day before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Arkansas if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Arkansas has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Arkansas does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

California

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in California. Due to COVID-19, all registered voters in California will automatically receive vote by mail ballots for the November 2020 election, so you do not need to request a vote by mail ballot. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

Typically, you can request a ballot by mail with this application form, in person at the county elections office, or in some counties, over the phone. California counties that have adopted the California Voter’s Choice Act use a vote-by-mail system for all elections, meaning that every registered voter receives a ballot in the mail 28 days before Election Day. As of 2020, these counties are: Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Fresno, Los Angeles, Madera, Mariposa, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Tuolumne.

Click here to track your California vote by mail ballot.

To return your California absentee ballot, mail it to your county election official, return it in person to a polling place or count elections office, or authorize someone else to return your ballot on your behalf.

ID is not required to vote in California, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

Some counties in California offer in-person early voting. Contact your county elections office to see if they offer early voting.

You can pre-register to vote in California when you turn 16.

California has closed presidential primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's presidential primary. For all other primaries, California uses a top-two primary system that allows voters to choose among all candidates running for each office. The two candidates who receive the most votes in the Primary Election qualify for the General Election. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in California but have not yet registered, you can go to your polling location and register on the day of the election.

Colorado

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Colorado. All registered voters will receive mail ballots automatically. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

Click here to track your Colorado mail ballot.

To return your Colorado mail ballot, mail it to your county election official or return it to a ballot drop box location.

If you are voting in person at a voter service and polling center, photo ID is required to vote in Colorado. If you are voting by mail for the first time, you may also need to provide a photocopy of your ID with your mail ballot. Valid forms of ID include:
- A valid Colorado driver’s license or valid identification card issued by the Colorado Department of Revenue. (Note: documents issued to not lawfully present and temporarily lawfully present individuals under Part 5 of Article 2 of Title 42, C.R.S. are not acceptable forms of identification.)
- A valid U.S. passport.
- A valid employee identification card with a photograph of the eligible elector issued by any branch, department, agency, or entity of the U.S. government or of Colorado, or by any county, municipality, board, authority, or other political subdivision of Colorado.
- A valid pilot’s license issued by the federal aviation administration or other authorized agency of the U.S.
- A valid U.S. military identification card with a photograph of the eligible elector.
- A copy of a current (within the last 60 days) utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows the name and address of the elector.
- A Certificate of Degree of Indian or Alaskan Native Blood.
- A valid Medicare or Medicaid card issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
- A certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate for the elector.
- Certified documentation of naturalization.
- A valid student identification card with a photograph of the eligible elector issued by an institute of higher education in Colorado, as defined in section 23-3.1-102(5), C.R.S..
- A valid veteran identification card issued by the U.S. department of veterans affairs veterans health administration with a photograph of the eligible elector.
- A valid identification card issued by a federally recognized tribal government certifying tribal membership

Any form of identification listed above that shows your address must show a Colorado address to qualify as an acceptable form of identification.

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can receive a free Colorado ID from the DMV.

If you go to a voter service and polling center without an approved form of ID, you may cast a provisional ballot. Your provisional ballot is counted if you complete the provisional ballot affidavit and the election official confirms your eligibility to vote.

Colorado offers an extended in-person voting period and all registered voters may cast their ballot in-person beginning at least 8 days prior to a Primary Election (except Sundays) and 15 days prior to a General Election (except Sundays and the first Saturday) at a Voter Service and Polling Center. No excuse is required to vote at a Voter Service and Polling Center.

You can pre-register to vote in Colorado when you turn 16.

Colorado has semi-open primaries. Voters registered with a particular political party can vote in that party’s primary, as can unaffiliated voters. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Colorado but have not yet registered, you can register and vote the voter service and polling center in your county through Election Day.

Connecticut

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Connecticut with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters can use the excuse “COVID-19” to request an absentee ballot.

To request an absentee ballot in Connecticut, complete an application, print, affix your original, non-digital signature, and mail to your town clerk. Clerks are permitted to accept applications via email or fax, but you must follow up with the original application copy by the close of polls on Election Day.

To return your Connecticut absentee ballot, return it via mail, via your town’s secure drop box, or in person at your town clerk’s office. If returned in person, your ballot must be dropped off the day before Election Day.

ID is required
to vote in Connecticut. Valid forms of ID include:
- Social security card
- Any pre-printed form of identification that shows your name and address, or name and signature, or name and photograph

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID as described above, you can vote a regular ballot by signing an affidavit in lieu of ID.

If you are a first time voter who registered by mail after January 1, 2003, and are voting for the first time in an primary/election with federal candidates on the ballot, and have a "mark" next to your name on the official registry list, you must present one of the following:
- A copy of a current and valid photo identification that shows your name and address
- A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or government document that shows your name and address

If you are required to present the above ID at the polls and do not do so, you can vote a provisional ballot.

Connecticut does not offer early voting, but does offer in-person absentee voting (see more under Vote-by-mail and Absentee).

You can pre-register to vote in Connecticut if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Connecticut has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Connecticut but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at a designated Election Day registration location in your town on Election Day. Election Day registration is only available for general elections (not including primaries).

Delaware

Delaware has two types of mail voting: absentee voting, and vote-by-mail. Voters can only vote absentee in Delaware with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters can vote absentee. All voters are eligible to vote by mail in Delaware during any election.

To request an absentee ballot in Delaware, you must complete an application. You can do this online if you have a Delaware driver’s license or state ID, or complete a PDF application and email, fax, or mail it to the county elections office. The paper version of the application must include your original, non-digital signature.

To request a vote by mail ballot in Delaware, you must complete an application. You can do this online if you have a Delaware driver’s license or state ID, or complete a PDF application and email, fax, or mail it to the county elections office. The paper version of the application must include your original, non-digital signature.

Click here to track your Delaware absentee ballot.

To return your Delaware absentee or vote by mail ballot, return it via mail or in person at your county election office.

ID is not required to vote in Delaware, but you will be asked for it at the polls. Valid forms of ID include:
- Delaware Drivers License or State ID
- U. S. Passport
- Signed Polling Place or Social Security Card
- Signed vehicle registration
- Signed credit card with photo
- A similar document that identifies the person by photo or signature

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can sign an affidavit affirming your identity and then vote normally.

Delaware offers in-person absentee voting. Voters can only vote absentee in-person with an approved excuse. The start of in-person absentee voting varies by county but ends in every county at 12:00 PM on the day before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Delaware when you are 16 years old.

Delaware has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Delaware does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

District of Columbia

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in D.C. Due to COVID-19, all registered voters in D.C. will automatically receive absentee ballots for the November 2020 election, so you do not need to request an absentee ballot. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

Typically, you can request an absentee ballot by completing the PDF form, signing it, and returning it to the Board of Elections by mail, fax, or email. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your D.C. absentee ballot.

To return your D.C. absentee ballot, mail it in, drop it off at a mail ballot drop box, or deliver it in person at any voting center.

ID is not required to vote in D.C. However, some polling places require ID to enter the facility. It is therefore encouraged that you take some form of identification with you to vote.

You must also show proof of residence if you are a first-time voter who did not submit ID upon registration, or if you are registering during the early voting period or on Election Day. Valid forms of proof of residence include:
- Valid District of Columbia DMV-issued ID
- Government check or paycheck (the issue date must be within 90 days of Election Day)
- Bank statement (the statement date must be within 90 days of Election Day)
- Current utility bill (does not include cell phone; the bill date must be within 90 days of Election Day)
- Student housing statement/tuition bill
- Homeless shelter occupancy statement
- Lease
- Other government document that shows your name and address

If you were required to show ID but go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can cast a Special Ballot. At 5:00 pm on the day after each election, you can go to the Board’s website, www.dcboe.org, or call 1-866-DC VOTES (1-866-328-6837), to learn of the Board’s preliminary determination to either count or reject your Special Ballot. If necessary, you may challenge the Board’s decision not to count your Special Ballot by scheduling a hearing that will take place on the Thursday after Election Day.

D.C. offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins one week before election day and ends the day before.

You can pre-register to vote in D.C. when you turn 16.

D.C. has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in D.C. but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at early voting centers during the early voting period or at your polling place on Election Day.

Florida

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Florida.

To request a vote by mail ballot in Florida, complete an online application on your county Supervisor of Elections’ website, call, email, fax, or mail your Supervisor of Elections, or apply in person at your Supervisor of Elections. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Florida vote by mail ballot.

To return your Florida vote by mail ballot, return it by mail or at secure drop boxes at the Supervisor of Elections’ main and branch offices and early voting sites.

Photo ID is required to vote in Florida. Valid forms of ID include:
- Florida driver’s license
- Florida identification card issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
- United States passport
- Debit or credit card
- Military identification
- Student identification
- Retirement center identification
- Neighborhood association identification
- Public assistance identification
- Veteran health identification card issued by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs
- License to carry a concealed weapon or firearm issued pursuant to s. 790.06
- Employee identification card issued by any branch, department, agency, or entity of the Federal Government, the state, a county, or a municipality

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can still vote a provisional ballot. As long as you are eligible and voted in the proper precinct, your provisional ballot will count provided the signature on your provisional ballot matches the signature in your registration record.

Florida offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins at the latest 10 days before an election and ends at the earliest 3 days before an election.

You can pre-register to vote in Florida when you turn 16.

Florida has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Florida does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Georgia

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Georgia.

To request an absentee ballot in Georgia, complete a PDF application and deliver it to your local county registration office via mail, fax, email, or in person. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient. An online absentee ballot request tool is in development.

Click here to track your Georgia absentee ballot.

To return your Georgia absentee ballot, return it by mail or in person to your county registrar’s office. County elections officials will have the option to install ballot drop boxes for the November general election, in addition to receiving ballots by mail.

Photo ID is required to vote in Georgia. Valid forms of ID include:
- Any valid state or federal government issued photo ID, including a free ID Card issued by your county registrar's office or the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)
- A Georgia Driver's License, even if expired
- Valid employee photo ID from any branch, department, agency, or entity of the U.S. Government, Georgia, or any county, municipality, board, authority or other entity of this state
- Valid U.S. passport ID
- Valid U.S. military photo ID
- Valid tribal photo ID

If you do not have an approved form of ID, the State of Georgia offers a free ID Card. An ID card can be issued at any county registrar's office or Department of Driver Services Office free of charge. To receive a voter identification card, you must provide:
- A photo identity document or approved non-photo identity document that includes full legal name and date of birth
- Documentation showing the voter's date of birth
- Evidence that the applicant is a registered voter
- Documentation showing the applicant's name and residential address

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. You will have three days from the close of the polls to present acceptable identification to
your county registrar office for your vote to count.

Georgia offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins on the fourth Monday immediately prior to each primary, general election, and most runoff elections (or as soon as possible prior to a runoff from any general election in which there are only state or county candidates on the ballot) and ends the Friday before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Georgia when you turn 17 ½.

Georgia has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Georgia does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Hawaii

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Hawaii. As of 2020, all registered voters will receive vote by mail ballots automatically, so you do not need to request one. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

To return your Hawaii vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it in person at a designated place of deposit, voter service center, or clerk’s office.

ID is not required to vote in Hawaii, although voters may be asked to show ID if voting at the polls. Valid forms of ID include:
- State issued driver's license;
- State issued identification card;
- Valid Passport
- A current utility bill, bank statement, government check, government document, or paycheck bearing your name and current address.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you will be asked to provide additional information to confirm your identity.

If you registered to vote for the first time in Hawaii and mailed in your application without providing proof of identification, you will be required to do so at you polling place, or with your mail ballot. Valid forms of ID include:
- A current and valid photo identification
- A current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address.
If you are required to provide ID and do not do so, you may vote a provisional ballot. You must then provide the Clerk’s Office acceptable identification for the ballot to be counted by a subsequent deadline.

In addition to vote-by-mail, Hawaii offers an extended voting period (through Election Day) and all registered voters may cast their ballot beginning 10 business days prior to Election Day at a voter service center.

You can pre-register to vote in Hawaii when you turn 16.

Hawaii has open primaries for congressional and state elections. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. Hawaii holds closed presidential primaries. 17-year-olds cannot participate in primaries even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Hawaii but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at an Early Walk In Voting location during the early voting period or at the polling place determined by your address on Election Day.

Idaho

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Idaho.

To request an absentee ballot in Idaho, use the online tool, contact your clerk’s office in writing or in person with the required information, or complete a PDF request form and mail to the clerk’s office. The paper version of the application must include your original, non-digital signature.

Click here to track your Idaho absentee ballot.

To return your Idaho absentee ballot, you can drop it off or mail it back to your local county clerk’s office.

Either providing photo ID or signing an affidavit is required
to vote in Idaho. Valid forms of ID include:
- An Idaho driver’s license or Idaho photo identification card.
- A U.S. passport or Federal photo identification card.
- A tribal photo identification card.
- A current student photo ID, issued by an Idaho high school or post secondary education institution.
- A license to carry a concealed weapon issued by a county sheriff in Idaho.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can sign a Personal Identification Affidavit and then vote a regular ballot.

Idaho offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins on the third Monday before the election and ends 5:00 PM on the Friday before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Idaho if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Idaho has semi-open and closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. A voter may only participate in the primary election of the political party for which they are registered, unless a party allows unaffiliated voters and/or voters registered with other parties to also participate in their primary. Unaffiliated voters can participate in all congressional and state primaries as well as Democratic presidential primaries, but only registered Republicans can participate in Republican presidential primaries. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Idaho but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day.

Illinois

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Illinois.

To request a vote by mail ballot in Illinois, complete the mail ballot application and return it to your local election authority by mail or in person. The paper version of the application must include your original, non-digital signature.

To return your Illinois vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your local election authority.

ID is not required to vote in Illinois. However, if you are registering to vote during Grace Period registration, you must provide two forms of ID. If you are a first-time voter who registered by mail and didn't provide a copy of your ID or your social security number, you must present ID (showing your name and address) at the polls. Valid forms of ID include:
- A current and valid photo identification
- Utility bill
- Bank statement
- Government check
- Paycheck
- Lease or contract for residence
- Student ID and mail addressed to voter’s residence
- Other government document

If you are required to show ID at the polls but do not bring it, you can vote a provisional ballot and submit additional information to the election authority later. The additional information must be received by the election authority no later than the close of business on the Tuesday following the election. The election authority has 14 days following the election to determine voter eligibility, and thus if the ballot should be counted. The provisional voter may find out if their ballot was counted, or if it was not counted, the reason that it was not counted. If the ballot is not counted, the provisional voter affidavit will be used as a registration application and the voter will be sent a voters registration ID card.

Illinois offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins the 40th day before the election and ends the day before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Illinois if you if you will turn 17 by the next primary election and 18 by the next general election.

Illinois has closed primaries. Voters must declare their party affiliation at their polling place and will receive one political party's ballot; however, this has no bearing on how a voter may vote in future primaries and is not considered party registration.17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Illinois but have not yet registered, you can register and vote during Grace Period registration, which begins on the 27th day before the election. You can register during the Grace Period at the office of the election authority or at a permanent polling place established by the election authority. You can also register at any early voting location beginning 15 days before the election, at some polling places on Election Day, or at another specially-designated location.

Indiana

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Indiana with an approved excuse. For the June 2 primary election, all voters were eligible to vote absentee, but guidance has not yet been released for the November 3 general election.

To request an absentee ballot in Indiana, apply online, or complete a PDF application and return by mail, email, or in person to the county election board. The paper application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail or in person. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

To return your Indiana absentee ballot, you can mail it back, or you, your attorney-in-fact, a bonded courier, or a member of your immediate household may hand-deliver the ballot.

Photo ID is required to vote in Indiana. Valid forms of ID must:
- Display your photo
- Display your name, and the name must conform to your voter registration record. Conform does not mean identical.
- Display an expiration date and either be current or have expired sometime after the date of the last General Election. NOTE: An ID issued by the US Department of Defense, a branch of the uniformed services, the Merchant Marine, the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (or Veterans Administration), or the Indiana National Guard is not required to have an expiration date, or may state that the document has an "Indefinite" expiration date.
- Be issued by the State of Indiana or the U.S. government

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you are entitled to receive a free Indiana State ID Card from the BMV. If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may cast a provisional ballot. Upon casting a provisional ballot, you have until noon 10 days after the election to follow up with the County Election Board and either provide photo ID or affirm one of the law's exemptions applies to you.

Exemptions do exist for the indigent, those with a religious objection to being photographed, and those living in state-licensed facilities that serve as their precinct's polling place.
- If you are wishing to claim an exemption from the photo ID requirement based on indigence or a religious objection, you may do so in one of two ways: 1, go the polls on Election Day, and cast a provisional ballot. Within 10 days of the election, visit the county election office and affirm that an exemption applies to you. Or, 2, vote absentee-in-person at the county election office before Election Day, and while there, affirm that an exemption applies to you.
- If you are a resident at a state-licensed facility that serves as your polling place, you may claim the exemption at the polls on Election Day.
- If you are a resident of a state-licensed facility that serves as a satellite absentee voting office, you may claim the exemption when voting absentee before election day.

Indiana offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. In-person absentee voting begins 28 days before Election Day and ends at 12 PM the day before the election. Additionally, the Office of County Circuit Court Clerk must be open for the purpose of absentee voting on the last two Saturdays before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Indiana if you will turn 18 by the next general or municipal election.

Indiana has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. If you are affiliated with either the Democratic Party or the Republican Party, you are entitled to vote for candidates of that party at the primary election. However, you must state which party you are affiliated with by asking the poll workers for the ballot of that party. You may only vote for candidates in the party whose ballot you select. If you are not affiliated with either of these two parties, you are still entitled to vote on a public question that is held on the same day as the primary without asking for a party ballot. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election, although they may have to vote a special ballot that does not include all of the same questions as the regular ballot.

Indiana does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Iowa

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Iowa.

To request an absentee ballot in Iowa, complete the absentee ballot request form with your original, non-digital signature and return it to your county auditor.

Click here to track your Iowa absentee ballot.

To return your Iowa absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person at the county auditor’s office.

Photo ID is required to vote in Iowa. Valid forms of ID include:
- Iowa driver’s license or non-operator ID
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military ID or veteran’s ID
- Tribal ID/document
- Iowa voter ID card

Voters without above ID may provide Election Day Registration documents, which include the following forms of photo ID:
- Iowa driver’s license or non-driver ID card
- Out-of-state driver's license or non-driver ID card
- U.S. passport
- U.S. military ID
- ID card issued by employer
- Student ID issued by Iowa high school or college
- Tribal ID

If your photo ID doesn't have your current address, you must also show one of the following:
- Residential lease
- Utility bill (including a cell phone bill)
- Bank statement
- Paycheck
- Government check
- Other government document

Any registered voter who does not have a valid driver's license or non-operator's ID issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation will be issued a Voter ID Card for free, automatically, in the mail. This also applies to anyone who registers to vote in the future. Upon receipt of the Voter ID Card, it should be immediately signed.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, another registered voter in the precinct may attest to your identity. You can also register on Election Day without the required ID if another registered voter in the precinct attests to your identity. Voters without the necessary ID or an attester will be offered a provisional ballot and can provide ID up until the time of the county canvass of votes (Monday after election day for Primary and General Elections).

Iowa offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins no earlier than 29 days before the election and effectively closes the day before the election. In very special circumstances, an in-person absentee ballot may be cast on election day from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM at the county auditor’s office IF the polls open at noon -- however the likelihood of this happening is very low.

You can pre-register to vote in Iowa when you turn 17.

Iowa has both caucuses and primaries. Caucuses are run by political parties and are used primarily to select delegates from the local to the national level who then represent voters’ preferences in terms of presidential candidates and party issues. Primaries are run by the state, where voters cast secret ballots in order to elect officials in all races excluding presidential.

Iowa has closed caucuses. Voters must be registered with a party in order to attend that party’s caucus.

Iowa has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Iowa but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day.

Kansas

No excuse is needed to use advance by mail voting in Kansas.

To request an advance by mail ballot in Kansas, complete the PDF application and send it to your county election official. The application must include your original, non-digital signature. If submitting the application via fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Kansas advance by mail ballot.

To return your Kansas advance by mail ballot, you can either mail it back or drop it off at your local elections office. In addition, once polling places are up and running, you can return your ballot to any polling place in your county.

Photo ID is required to vote in Kansas. If the photo ID has an expiration date on it, the ID must not have expired at the time of voting. An acceptable photo ID does not have to have an expiration date on the document in order to be valid. Persons age 65 or older may use expired photo ID documents. Valid forms of ID include:
- A driver's license or nondriver's identification card issued by Kansas or by another state or district of the United States
- A concealed carry of handgun license issued by Kansas or a concealed carry of handgun or weapon license issued by another state or district of the United States
- A United States passport
- An employee badge or identification document issued by a municipal, county, state, or federal government office
- A military identification document issued by the United States
- A student identification card issued by an accredited postsecondary institution of education in the state of Kansas
- A public assistance identification card issued by a municipal, county, state or federal government office
- An identification card issued by an Indian tribe

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can get a free nondriver identification card through the Division of Vehicles, Kansas Department of Revenue. In order to obtain a nondriver identification card, a person must present acceptable proof of identity and proof of residence to the Division of Vehicles. If you don’t have proof of identity, you can apply for a free Kansas birth certificate. In order to obtain a fee waiver for a nondriver identification card, you must also sign a form containing an affidavit stating, among other things, that you:
- Are registered to vote in Kansas
- Do not possess a photographic identification document that is valid for voting purposes
- Have provided evidence of current Kansas voting registration status. Examples of such evidence of registration status include a voter registration card (original or photocopy) or a printout from Kansas VoterView.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. The provisional ballot will be counted only if you submit valid photo ID before the county canvass. Depending on the county, the canvass takes place 7-10 days following election day (on the Monday or on the 2nd Thursday following the election).

Kansas offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 7-20 days before Election Day, depending on the county -- all counties must begin early voting 7 days before the election, but have the option to start as early as 20 days before. Early voting ends the Monday before the election at noon.

You can pre-register to vote in Kansas if you are 17 years old and will turn 18 by the next election.

Kansas has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. However, unaffiliated voters can register with a political party on Election Day. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Kansas does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline. If you move to Kansas from another state fewer than 45 days before an election and the deadline to register to vote has passed, you may register and vote a president-only ballot at your county election office by 12:00 PM the day before Election Day.

Kentucky

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Kentucky with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters are eligible to vote absentee.

To request an absentee ballot in Kentucky, apply online or request an application via mail by contacting your county clerk. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted in person; otherwise, an e-signature is sufficient.

To return your Kentucky absentee ballot, you can either mail it back or return it to a ballot drop box.

Photo ID is required to vote in Kentucky. Valid forms of ID include:
- Driver’s license
- Social Security card
- county issued identification card approved in writing by the State Board of Elections
- U.S. government-issued identification card
- Kentucky state government-issued identification card with picture
- credit card
- another form of ID containing both picture and signature

If you do not have an approved form of ID or you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, personal acquaintance of precinct officer can substitute for a photo ID.

Typically, voters can only vote in-person absentee in Kentucky with an approved excuse. However, for the 2020 November General Election, Kentucky will offer early voting every weekday between October 13 and Election Day, November 3, and every Saturday for at least four hours. No excuse is required to vote early.

You can pre-register to vote in Kentucky if you will turn 18 by the next general election.

Kentucky has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Kentucky does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Louisiana

Voters can typically only vote by mail in Louisiana with an approved excuse. Following a judicial decision, during COVID-19, a COVID-19 absentee ballot application is available with an expanded list of approved excuses, including experiencing COVID-19 symptoms, being under medical quarantine, being at higher risk from COVID-19, or caring for someone under medical quarantine.

To request a vote by mail ballot in Louisiana, apply online, or complete a PDF application and return by mail, fax, or in person to the registrar of voters. The paper version of the application must include your original, non-digital signature.

Click here to track your Louisiana vote by mail ballot.

To return your Louisiana vote by mail ballot, you can mail it back, or you or a member of your immediate family may hand-deliver the ballot to the registrar of voters. You may also be able to return your vote by mail ballot by fax upon request submitted to the registrar of voters. Your ballot must be received by 4:30pm on the day before Election Day.

Photo ID is required to vote in Louisiana. Valid forms of ID include:
- Louisiana driver's license
- a Louisiana special identification card
- LA Wallet digital driver's license
- other generally recognized picture identification card that contains the name and signature of the applicant

If you do not have an approved form of ID, all registered voters may obtain a free Louisiana special identification card by presenting a voter information card to the Office of Motor Vehicles. If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may still cast your vote by signature on a voter affidavit.

Louisiana offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 14 days before the election (15 if there is a state holiday) and ends 7 days before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in person in Louisiana when you turn 16, or by any method when you turn 17.

Louisiana has closed presidential primaries and open congressional primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's presidential primary. Any registered voter can participate in primary congressional elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds cannot vote in any primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Louisiana does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Maine

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Maine.

To request an absentee ballot in Maine, apply online or contact your municipal clerk by phone or through a written request. The paper version of the application must include your original, non-digital signature.

To return your Maine absentee ballot, you may drop it off or mail it back to your local elections office.

If the ballot is delivered or returned by a third party other than an immediate family member, the ballot must be marked in the presence of a notary public, clerk of a municipality or clerk or courts, or two other individuals. Before marking the ballot, the voter must allow the witness or witnesses to examine the ballot. In addition, a voter who is unable to read or mark the ballot because of a physical disability, illiteracy, or religious faith must mark the ballot in the presence of a notary public, clerk of a municipality, clerk or courts, or another individual.

ID is not required to vote in Maine, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

Maine offers in-person absentee voting and no excuse is needed. In-person absentee voting begins 30 days before the election and ends Thursday before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Maine when you turn 16.

In presidential, state, and congressional primaries, voters must affiliate with a party to vote in their primary, but unaffiliated voters may affiliate with a party on election day. Affiliated voters wishing to update their affiliation must do so at least 15 days before an election. You can update your affiliation 3 months after the date of your last party change. 17-year-olds can in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Maine but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your town office or city hall any day, including during the early voting period and on Election Day.

Maryland

While registered voters in Maryland automatically received mail ballots for the June 2 Primary Election due to COVID-19, voters will have to request a mail ballot to receive one for the upcoming November 3 election.

No excuse is needed to use mail-in voting in Maryland.

To request a mail-in ballot in Maryland, apply online if you have a valid driver’s license or state ID, or complete the PDF application and send it to your local board of elections by mail, by email, by fax, or in person. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient. While registered voters in Maryland automatically received mail ballots for the June 2 Primary Election due to COVID-19, voters will have to request a mail ballot to receive one for the upcoming November 3 election.

Click here to track your Maryland mail-in ballot.

To return your Maryland mail-in ballot, mail it back or return it in person at an early voting center, an election day vote center, a polling place, a ballot drop box, or your local board of elections.

ID is not required to vote in Maryland, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

Maryland offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins on the second Thursday before the election and ends the Thursday before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Maryland when you turn 16.

Maryland typically has closed primaries, although it is up to the state political parties to decide. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Maryland but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place or early voting center on Election Day or during the early voting period.

Massachusetts

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Massachusetts with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters are eligible to vote absentee.

To request an absentee ballot in Massachusetts, complete the PDF application and submit it by mail, email, or fax to your local elections office. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature or an e-signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Massachusetts absentee ballot.

To return your Massachusetts absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your local elections office. If your city or town has provided a secure ballot drop box, ballots can also be submitted to that drop box.

Photo ID is usually not required to vote in Massachusetts. However, you may be asked to show identification when you check-in at your polling place for any of the following reasons:

- You are voting for the first time in Massachusetts in a federal election;
- You are an inactive voter;
- You are casting a provisional or challenged ballot;
- The poll worker has a reasonable suspicion that leads them to request identification.

Valid forms of ID include:
- driver's license;
- state-issued ID card;
- recent utility bill;
- rent receipt;
- lease;
- copy of a voter registration affidavit;
- any other printed identification which contains the voter's name and address.

If you are voting for the first time in a federal election in Massachusetts after registering to vote by mail, you may be required to show identification under federal law. It is recommended that you include a copy of your identification with your mail-in voter registration form; if you choose not to do so, you may be asked for identification when you go to your polling place on Election Day. If you are unable to present identification when you check-in, you may cast a provisional ballot and return later with identification. If you do not return with acceptable identification by close of polls, your ballot cannot be counted.

You may also be asked to show identification if you are on the list of inactive voters or if a poll worker has reasonable cause to request it. If you are not able to present identification in such a situation, you must still be permitted to vote; however, your ballot must be challenged. This means that your name and address, the name and address of the challenger, and the reason for the challenge must be written on your ballot. You ballot will be cast normally, and will only be re-examined in the case of a recount, court order, or audit.

Massachusetts offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 15 days before the election and ends 4 days before the election. Early voting is not available for municipal elections.

You can pre-register to vote in Massachusetts when you turn 16.

Massachusetts has open primaries. Registered unaffiliated voters may choose one party's primary ballot to vote on and will remain unaffiliated for future elections. Voters enrolled with a party must vote in their party’s primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Massachusetts does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Michigan

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Michigan.

To request an absentee ballot in Michigan, apply online or submit an application, letter, or postcard to your local clerk. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail or in person. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Michigan absentee ballot.

To return your Michigan absentee ballot, you can locate a dropbox at your county clerk or local elections office. You may also mail the ballot back to your local elections office for a contactless option.

Photo ID is required to vote in Michigan. Valid forms of ID include:
- Michigan driver's license
- Michigan personal identification card

A voter who does not possess either of the above may show any of the following, as long as they are current:
- Driver's license or personal identification card issued by another state
- Federal or state government-issued photo ID
- U.S. passport
- Military ID with photo
- Student ID with photo—from a high school or accredited institution of higher education
- Tribal ID with photo

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can get a state identification card at your local Secretary of State branch office. If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can cast a ballot by signing an affidavit, and your ballot will be counted with all other ballots on Election Day.

Michigan offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed. Absentee voting begins 40 days prior to election and ends the day before the election. 5 PM on the Friday before the election is the latest to request a ballot by mail, but an absentee ballot may be requested in person until 4 PM on the day before the election and must be submitted to the clerk’s office by 8 PM on Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Michigan if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Michigan has open non-presidential primaries. For presidential primaries, a voter must declare a political party when requesting a ballot -- however, this is not considered a declaration of party affiliation and has no bearing on how a voter may vote in future primary elections. For all other primaries, voters will be issued a single ballot with all political parties and candidates listed, and voters may choose which party primary they would like to participate in.

If you’re eligible to vote in Michigan but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your city or township clerk’s office during the early voting period or on Election Day/etc.

Minnesota

Due to COVID-19, there is no witness requirement for registered voters when returning their absentee ballot for the November 3, 2020 State General Election. Non-registered voters will still need a witness, to indicate their proof of residence.

In Minnesota, the terms “early vote by mail” and “absentee voting” refer to the same process.

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Minnesota.

To request an absentee ballot in Minnesota, apply online or submit a completed PDF application by mail, fax, or email to your county election official. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Minnesota absentee ballot.

To return your Minnesota absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to the election office that sent your ballot. If returning your ballot in person, you must drop it off by 3pm on Election Day. Due to COVID-19, there is no witness requirement for registered voters for the November 3 General Election. Non-registered voters will still need a witness, to indicate their proof of residence.

If you successfully registered to vote at least 21 days before Election Day and you have not moved or changed names since then, ID is not required to vote in Minnesota, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

If you need to register or update your registration, or you have not voted in four years or more, you will need to show proof of residence before you vote in Minnesota. Valid forms of proof of residence include:
- ID with current name and address, including: valid Minnesota driver’s license, learner’s permit or ID, or a receipt for any of these; Tribal ID with name, address, photo and signature
- Photo ID and a document with current name and address (see lists below)
- Registered voter who can confirm your address
- College student ID with housing list
- Valid registration in the same precinct
- Notice of Late Registration
- Staff person of a residential facility

If you’re using a combination of a photo ID and a document with your current name and address, the following are acceptable photo IDs (the ID can be expired):
- Driver's license, state ID or learner’s permit issued by any state
- U.S. Passport
- U.S. Military or Veteran ID
- Tribal ID with name, signature and photo
- Minnesota university, college or technical college ID
- Minnesota high school ID

If you’re using a combination of a photo ID and a document with your current name and address, the following are approved documents with your current name and address (these can be shown on electronic device):

- Bill, account or start-of-service statement due or dated within 30 days of the election for:
- Phone, TV or internet
- Solid waste, sewer, electric, gas or water
- Banking or credit card
- Rent or mortgage
- Residential lease or rent agreement valid through Election Day
- Current student fee statement


Minnesota offers in-person early/absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 46 days before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Minnesota if you will turn 18 by the next election. Additionally, if you register to vote when you’re 17 and you turn 18 AFTER the next election for which you are eligible, you must re-register to vote. Additionally, if you register to vote when you’re 17 and you turn 18 AFTER the next election for which you are eligible (special, township, state, primary, general), you must re-register to vote.

Minnesota has open congressional and state primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. Minnesota has closed presidential primaries. Voters must affirm which party they are affiliated with and may only vote in that party's primary.

17-year-olds can not vote in primary elections if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Minnesota but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day or at the county election office during early voting.

Mississippi

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Mississippi with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, physician-mandated quarantine is considered an approved excuse.

To request an absentee ballot in Mississippi, you must contact your circuit clerk’s office to request an absentee ballot application be mailed to you. All absentee ballot applications have to be signed by an official authorized to administer oath, such as a notary public, unless the voter is temporarily or permanently physically disabled. Temporary or permanently physically disabled voters may have the application witnessed by a person who is at least 18 years of age. Once you’ve completed your absentee ballot application, you must mail it back to your circuit clerk’s office.

To return your Mississippi absentee ballot, you must mail it back to your circuit clerk’s office. All Mississippi ballots received by voters via the mail must be returned by mail as well. All absentee ballot envelopes must be witnessed/signed by an official authorized to administer oath, such as a notary public, unless the voter is temporarily or permanently physically disabled. Temporary or permanently physically disabled voters can have the ballot envelope witnessed by a person who is at least 18 years of age.

Photo ID is required to vote in Mississippi. Valid forms of ID include:
- A driver's license
- A photo ID card issued by a branch, department, or entity of the State of Mississippi
- A United States passport
- A government employee ID card
- A firearms license
- A student photo ID issued by an accredited Mississippi university, college, or community/junior college
- A United States military ID
- A tribal photo ID
- Any other photo ID issued by any branch, department, agency or entity of the United States government or any State government
- A Mississippi Voter Identification Card

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can get a free Mississippi Voter Identification Card at any circuit clerk’s office. If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you will be able to cast a ballot by signing an affidavit. In order for your ballot to count, you will then need to bring an acceptable form of ID to the circuit or municipal clerk’s office within 5 business days.

Mississippi offers in-person absentee voting. Voters can only vote absentee-in-person with an approved excuse. Absentee-in-person voting begins 45 days before the election and ends at noon the Saturday before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Mississippi if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Mississippi has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Mississippi does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Missouri

Missouri has two types of mail voting: absentee voting, and vote-by-mail. Absentee voting requires an approved excuse, and you can return your ballot by mail or in person. Missouri voters who have contracted COVID-19, who are at higher risk of contracting COVID-19, or who are otherwise confined or incapacitated by illness are eligible to vote absentee in any election in 2020 without having their absentee ballot notarized, but other voters eligible to vote absentee or by mail must have their ballot notarized before returning it. All registered voters are eligible to vote by mail without an excuse. All vote-by-mail ballots must be notarized and returned by mail, not in person.

To request an absentee ballot in Missouri, complete the absentee ballot application and return it to your local election authority in person, by mail, by fax, or by email. Relatives within the second degree (spouse, parents and children) may complete an absentee ballot application, in person, on behalf of the voter who wishes to vote absentee. The application must include your original, non-digital signature; if submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

To request a vote-by-mail ballot in Missouri, complete the mail ballot application and return it to your local election authority in person or by mail. The application must include your original, non-digital signature; if submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

To return your Missouri absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your local election authority. If returning your absentee ballot in person, the deadline is 5pm on the day before Election Day. Missouri vote-by-mail ballots must be returned by U.S. mail only in the provided envelope. Missouri voters who have contracted COVID-19, who are at higher risk of contracting COVID-19, or who are otherwise confined or incapacitated by illness are eligible to vote absentee in any election in 2020 without having their absentee ballot notarized, but other voters eligible to vote absentee or by mail must have their ballot notarized before returning it.

ID is required to vote in Missouri. Valid forms of ID include:

Option 1:
- Nonexpired Missouri driver license;
- Nonexpired or nonexpiring Missouri non-driver license;
- Nonexpired document which contains the voter's name and photograph and is issued by the United States or the state of Missouri; or
- Nonexpired or nonexpiring military ID card which contains a photograph

Option 2:
- Identification issued by the state of Missouri, an agency of the state, or a local election authority of the state;
- Identification issued by the United States government or agency thereof;
- Identification issued by an institution of higher education, including a university, college, vocational and technical school, located within the state of Missouri; or
- A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, government check or other government document that contains the name and address of the voter

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can send a form to the Secretary of State’s office and they will assist you in obtaining one. If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may still cast a provisional ballot. Your provisional ballot will be counted if you return to the polling place and show an Option 1 ID or if the signature on the provisional ballot envelope matches the signature on your voter registration record.

Missouri offers in-person absentee voting. Voters can only vote early with an approved excuse. Absentee-in-person voting begins 6 weeks before Election Day and ends at 5pm the day before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Missouri when you turn 17.5.

Missouri has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Missouri does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Montana

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Montana. Due to COVID-19, some counties will automatically send mail ballots to all registered voters prior to the November 3 general election.

To request an absentee ballot in Montana, submit a completed PDF application with your original, non-digital signature by mail or in person to your local elections office. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Montana absentee ballot.

To return your Montana absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your local elections office.

ID is required to vote in Montana. Valid forms of ID include:
- A current photo ID showing the elector’s name
- A current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, voter registration confirmation, government check, or other government document showing the elector’s current name and current address

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can still vote by requesting and filling out a “Polling Place Elector ID” form. Or, you can vote a provisional ballot. Your provisional ballot will be counted if you provide valid ID to the county election office by 5:00 p.m. the day after the election, or mail it to the county election office postmarked by the day after the election.

Montana offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote absentee-in-person. Early voting begins as soon as ballot are available, no later than 30 days before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Montana if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Montana has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Montana but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your county election office or designated location any time after the close of regular registration through the close of polls on election day, except between noon and 5:00 p.m. the day before the election.

Nebraska

No excuse is needed to vote early by mail in Nebraska.

To request an early voting ballot in Nebraska, print and complete an early voting application and then mail, fax, or scan/take a picture of your application and email it to your county election office. Your original, non-digital signature must be included if submitting the form by mail or in person; if faxing or emailing the application, a scanned signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your Nebraska early vote by mail ballot.

To return your Nebraska early vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your county election office.

ID is not required to vote in Nebraska, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

Nebraska offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 30 days before a primary or general election and 15 days before all other elections. The day before the election is the last day to vote early in person.

You can pre-register to vote in Nebraska if you will turn 18 years old on or before the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November.

Nebraska has closed primaries by default, but political parties may choose to open them. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Nebraska does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline. The only exception is at a Presidential election for persons who have recently moved to Nebraska, or moved to another state after that state’s registration deadline. They may vote a Presidential-only ballot by contacting the county election official.

Nevada

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Nevada. During a state of emergency, including COVID-19, all registered voters will receive an absentee ballot automatically. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

To request an absentee ballot in Nevada, you would typically need to complete and submit a request form with your original, non-digital signature to the county clerk or registrar of voters in the county where you’re registered to vote.

Click here to track your Nevada absentee ballot.

To return your Nevada absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your county elections office.

Photo ID is required to vote in Nevada. Valid forms of ID include a current and valid form from the following:
- Nevada Driver’s license
- Nevada Identification Card
- Armed Forces Identification Card
- Sheriff’s Work Identification Card
- Identification Card issued by an Agency of the State of Nevada or other political subdivision
- Student Identification Card
- United States Passport
- Tribal Identification Card
- Other forms of identification may be used; please check with your County Clerk/Registrar of Voters for other acceptable forms of identification

If you’re a first-time voter, didn’t include a copy of ID when you registered, and didn’t provide a valid driver’s license number or social security number on your application, be sure to bring one of the following:
- A current photo ID that shows your address
- A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address (however, a voter registration ID is not accepted)

Nevada offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins the third Saturday before an election and ends on the Friday before election day.

You can pre-register to vote in Nevada when you turn 17. Nevada DMV ID is required to register online. The system will not process any application without DMV ID.

Nevada has closed caucuses. Voters registered with a particular party may only participate in that party's caucus. 17-year-olds can participate in presidential caucuses if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election, but cannot do so for other caucuses.

If you’re eligible to vote in Nevada but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place during the early voting period or on Election Day.

New Hampshire

Voters can typically only vote absentee in New Hampshire with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, concerns related to COVID-19 are considered an approved excuse.

To request an absentee ballot in New Hampshire, complete the application form and mail, fax, or hand deliver it to your local city or town clerk. Your original, non-digital signature must be included if submitting the form by mail or in person; if faxing or emailing the application, a scanned signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your New Hampshire absentee ballot.

To return your New Hampshire absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your local city or town clerk.

Photo ID is required to vote in New Hampshire. Valid forms of ID include:
- Driver’s license issued by any state or federal government
- Non-driver ID card issued by NH DMV or motor vehicle agency of another state
- Photo ID card for “voting identification only” issued by NH DMV (RSA 260:21)
- United States armed services identification card
- United States passport or passcard
- NH student ID card (see more information below about acceptable student ID)
- A photo ID not mentioned above, but determined to be legitimate by the moderator, supervisors of the checklist, or clerk of a town, ward or city. If any person authorized to challenge a voter does so under this provision, the voter shall be required to fill out a challenged voter affidavit before obtaining a ballot.
- Verification of the voter’s identity by a moderator or supervisor of the checklist or clerk of a town, ward or city (not a ballot clerk). If any person authorized to challenge a voter does so under this provision, the voter shall be required to fill out a challenged voter affidavit before obtaining a ballot.


An acceptable photo ID must have an expiration date or date of issuance. The ID will remain valid 5 years beyond the expiration date unless the voter is 65 or older in which case an acceptable photo ID may be used without regard to expiration date. The name on the ID shall substantially conform to the name on the checklist.

Acceptable student photo ID cards must be issued by:
- A college, university, or career school approved or licensed to operate in New Hampshire
- A public high school in New Hampshire
- A non-public high school in New Hampshire accredited by a private school accrediting agency that is recognized by the NH Department of Education
- Dartmouth College
- A college or university operated by the university system of New Hampshire or the community college system of New Hampshire

All student ID cards must have an issuance or expiration date that has not been exceeded by more than 5 years. Each August the Commissioner of the Department of Education will provide to the Secretary of State a list of all approved, licensed, and accredited schools from which a student ID is acceptable.

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you may obtain a free photo ID for voting purposes only by presenting a voucher from your town/city clerk or the Secretary of State to any NH DMV office that issues identification. 

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you will be permitted to vote after signing a challenged voter affidavit. You will also have your photograph taken by an election official, and they will attach this photo to the signed affidavit. If you object to the photograph requirement for religious reasons, you can instead sign an additional affidavit of religious exemption. If you filled out a challenged voter affidavit in order to vote on Election Day, you will receive a verification letter from the Secretary of State requesting confirmation that you voted in the election. If you do not respond in writing to the Secretary of State within 30 days of the date it was mailed, the Attorney General will conduct an investigation to determine whether fraudulent voting occurred.

New Hampshire does not offer in-person early voting.

You can pre-register to vote in New Hampshire if you will turn 18 by the next election.

New Hampshire has semi-open primaries. Undeclared voters can choose to vote in either primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in New Hampshire but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day.

New Jersey

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in New Jersey. During COVID-19, all active registered voters will receive a vote by mail ballot automatically. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

To request a vote by mail ballot in New Jersey, you would typically need to complete the request form for your county with your original, non-digital signature and submit it to your county clerk by mail or in person.

To return your New Jersey vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your county clerk.

ID is not required to vote in New Jersey, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

New Jersey offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote absentee-in-person.

You can pre-register to vote in New Jersey when you turn 17.

New Jersey has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. For congressional and state primary elections, voters can choose to affiliate with a party at the polls on Election Day if the voter is unaffiliated. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

New Jersey does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

New Mexico

No excuse is needed to absentee vote by mail in New Mexico.

To request an absentee vote by mail ballot in New Mexico, complete the online application. You can also contact your county clerk’s office in person or by mail, phone, or email to get a physical application form, and then return it by mail or hand delivery. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail.

Click here to track your New Mexico absentee vote by mail ballot.

To return your New Mexico absentee vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it to your county clerk’s office.

ID is not required to vote in most New Mexico elections, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters, but some municipal elections require ID, including the City of Albuquerque and the City of Rio Rancho.

New Mexico offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 28 days before the election at the latest, but may begin earlier in some counties.

You can pre-register to vote in New Mexico if you will turn 18 by the next election.

New Mexico has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in New Mexico but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your county clerk’s office during the early voting period (until the Saturday before the election). New Mexico does NOT offer Election Day registration.

New York

Voters can typically only vote absentee in New York with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, all voters are eligible to use the “temporary illness” excuse due to concerns surrounding COVID-19.

To request an absentee ballot in New York, submit a request online through the state portal. You can also submit a request to your local county board of elections by email, by fax, or in person, or mail a paper application or letter to your county board of elections. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail.

New York does not have an absentee ballot tracking tool, but voters in New York City can use this tool to track their absentee ballots.

To return your New York absentee ballot, mail it back or return it to your local county board of elections, an early voting location during early voting, or a polling location on Election Day. If you are unable to sign your own name, your ballot must be witnessed. The witness must include their name and address with the ballot when you return it.

ID is not required to vote in New York, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

New York offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 10 days before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in New York when you turn 16.

New York has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Voters may change their enrollment in a political party up to twenty five days before the general election, which will be effective immediately. Any change of enrollment after February 14 and seven days before the June primary will be effective on the seventh day following the June primary.

New York does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

North Carolina

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in North Carolina.

To request an absentee ballot in North Carolina, submit a completed PDF application with your original, non-digital signature by mail, by email, by fax, or in person to the county board of elections.

Click here to track your North Carolina absentee ballot.

To return your North Carolina absentee ballot, mail it back or deliver it in person to your county board of elections office or an open early voting site during the early voting period. One person is required to witness your ballot and complete the enclosed witness certification.

North Carolina’s voter ID law is currently involved in ongoing litigation and a photo ID is not required to vote due to two preliminary injunctions granted by the United States District Court for the Middle District of North Carolina and the North Carolina Court of Appeals. The injunctions will remain in effect until so ordered by the courts.

North Carolina offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins on the second Thursday of the month before the election through the last Saturday before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in North Carolina when you turn 16 if you will turn 18 by the next general election.

North Carolina has semi-closed primaries. Unless a recognized party chooses to have its primary open to unaffiliated voters, only voters registered with a particular party may vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in North Carolina but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at one-stop early voting sites during the early voting period. North Carolina does NOT offer Election Day registration.

North Dakota

In North Dakota, the terms “vote by mail” and “absentee voting” refer to the same process.

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in North Dakota.

To request an absentee ballot in North Dakota, complete a form online through the state’s portal, print the form, affix your original, non-digital signature, and deliver to the appropriate election official by mail, in person, by fax, or as a scanned attachment to an email. The form requires some form of valid state or tribal ID. Certain counties in North Dakota run their elections by mail by mail, in which case a ballot is automatically sent to voters before the election. In all other counties, you must apply for an absentee ballot. Contact your county election officials to learn more.

Click here to track your North Dakota absentee ballot.

To return your North Dakota absentee ballot, you can either mail it back or drop it off at your local elections office.

Your absentee ballot must be postmarked or returned in person by 5pm the day before Election Day.

ID is required to vote in North Dakota. ID must include the voter’s name, current North Dakota residential address, and date of birth. Valid forms of ID include:
- Driver’s license
- Nondriver’s identification card
- Tribal government issued identification (including those issued by BIA for a tribe located in North Dakota, any other tribal agency or entity, or any other document that sets forth the tribal member’s name, date of birth, and current North Dakota residential address)
- Long term care identification certificate (provided by North Dakota facility)

If an individual’s valid form of identification does not include the North Dakota residential address or date of birth, or the North Dakota residential address is not current, the individual may supplement the identification with a current utility bill; a current bank statement; a check or a document issued by a federal, state, local, or tribal government (including those issued by BIA for a tribe located in North Dakota, any other tribal agency or entity, or any other document that sets forth the tribal member’s name, date of birth, and current North Dakota residential address); or a paycheck.

If an individual is not able to show a valid form of identification but asserts qualifications as an elector, the individual may mark a ballot that will be securely set aside. When the individual provides valid identification to the proper election official prior to the meeting of the canvassing board, the set aside ballot will be presented to the canvassing board for proper inclusion in the tally.

North Dakota offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting may begin 15 days before an election and end the day before the election. Early voting locations, dates, and hours are at the discretion of each county auditor.

North Dakota has no pre-registration or voter registration.

North Dakota has open primaries. Voters are able to choose any political party’s primary to vote in however, voters are not allowed to cross party lines on the ballot and may only vote for candidates from one political party. 17-year-olds may vote in the North Dakota Democratic Presidential Primary if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

North Dakota has no voter registration. You simply need to bring valid proof of identification and residency to the polls on Election Day in order to vote.

Ohio

No excuse is needed to vote absentee by mail in Ohio.

To request an absentee by mail ballot in Ohio, mail a completed, printed form with your original, non-digital signature to the county board of elections.

Click here to track your Ohio absentee by mail ballot.

To return your Ohio absentee by mail ballot, mail it back or deliver it in person to your county board of elections.

ID is required to vote in Ohio. Valid forms of ID include:
- An unexpired Ohio driver’s license or state identification card with present or former address so long as the voter’s present residential address is printed in the official list of registered voters for that precinct
- A military identification
- A photo identification that was issued by the United States government or the State of Ohio, that contains the voter’s name and current address and that has an expiration date that has not passed
- An original or copy of a current utility bill (including cell phone bill) with the voter’s name and present address
- An original or copy of a current bank statement with the voter’s name and present address
- An original or copy of a current government check with the voter’s name and present address
- An original or copy of a current paycheck with the voter’s name and present address
- An original or copy of a current other government document (other than a notice of voter registration mailed by a board of elections) that shows the voter’s name and present address.

For utility bills, bank statements, government checks, paychecks, and other government documents, “current” is defined as within the last 12 months. “Other government document” includes license renewal and other notices, fishing and marine equipment operator’s license, court papers, or grade reports or transcripts. “Government office” includes any local (including county, city, township, school district and village), state or federal (United States) government office, branch, agency, commission, public college or university or public community college, whether or not in Ohio.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may provide either your Ohio driver’s license or state identification number (which begins with two letters followed by six numbers) or the last four digits of your Social Security number and cast a provisional ballot. Once the information is reviewed and verified by the board of elections, your ballot will be counted.

If you do not provide the documents or information listed above, you can still vote a provisional ballot. However, in order for that ballot to be counted, you must return to the board of elections no later than seven days following Election Day to provide a qualifying form of identification.

Ohio offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins the day after the close of voter registration (usually 29 days before the election) and ends at 2 PM on the Monday before the election. Absentee ballots can be returned in person through Election Day, but must be given directly to the county Board of Elections.

You can pre-register to vote in Ohio if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Ohio has semi-open primaries. Voters become affiliated with a political party by choosing to vote in that party’s primary. Voters declare or change their affiliation by choosing a party’s primary ballot. Unaffiliated voters can vote with an Official Questions and Issues Ballot if they do not wish to vote on people or become affiliated with a party. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election. However, they can only vote to nominate candidates and cannot vote on issues or party central committees until they are 18.

Ohio does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Oklahoma

Typically, Oklahoma absentee ballots must be notarized, but during a public health emergency like COVID-19, voters can include a copy of their ID with their ballot instead.

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Oklahoma.

To request an absentee ballot in Oklahoma, submit an online application, or complete a PDF application and return it by mail, by email, by fax, or in person at the county election board office. The application must include your original, non-digital signature if submitted by mail.

Click here to track your Oklahoma absentee ballot.

To return your Oklahoma absentee ballot, mail it back or deliver it in person to your county board of elections. Typically, absentee ballots must be notarized, but during a public health emergency like COVID-19, voters can include a copy of their ID with their ballot instead.

ID is required to vote in Oklahoma. Valid forms of ID include:
- Oklahoma driver license
- Oklahoma Identification Card
- United States passport
- United States military identification
- Voter Identification Card issued by the County Election Board

A document used for proof of identity for voting must have been issued by the United States government, the State of Oklahoma, or a federally recognized tribal government. Valid forms of ID must contain the following information:
- The name of the person to whom it was issued
- A photograph of the person to whom it was issued (with the exception of the voter identification card, which does not have a photograph)
- An expiration date that is after the date of the election, unless the identification is valid indefinitely
- The law requires the voter's name on the proof of identity document to "substantially conform" to the voter's name in the Precinct Registry. In other words, your name on your proof of identity must match your name in the Precinct Registry.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may vote by provisional ballot and sign a sworn affidavit. Provisional ballots are sealed inside special envelopes and are not put through the voting device. After election day, County Election Board officials will investigate the information provided by the voter on the affidavit and either will approve the provisional ballot for counting or will reject it based on the outcome of that investigation. A provisional ballot cast by a voter who declines or is unable to produce proof of identity shall only be considered verified and approved for counting if:
- The voter's name on the affidavit substantially conforms to the voter's name in the voter registration database.
- The voter's residence address on the affidavit substantially conforms to the voter's residence address in the voter registration database.
- The voter's date of birth matches the information in the voter registration database.
- The voter's Oklahoma driver license number or the last four digits of the voter's Social Security number on the affidavit matches the information in the voter registration database. (This provision does not apply if the voter was not required to provide a driver's license number or the last four digits of the voter's Social Security number at the time of registration.)
- The provisional ballot meets the eligibility requirements set forth in Section 7-116.1 of Title 26 of the Oklahoma Statues.

Oklahoma offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting is available from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM on Thursday and Friday before all elections. For state and federal elections only, early voting is also available from 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM on the Saturday before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Oklahoma when you turn 17½. Applicants who pre-register cannot vote until they turn 18 years old and the application has been approved by the applicant's County Election Board. Applicants will be mailed a voter ID card upon approval of their registration. Applications received less than 25 days before an election, in which the applicant has turned 18 and is eligible to vote, will be held and processed immediately following the election.

Oklahoma has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. However, parties can choose to allow registered Independent voters to also participate in their primaries. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Oklahoma does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Oregon

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Oregon. Oregon uses a vote-by-mail system for all elections, meaning that all registered voters will automatically be sent ballots in the mail. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

You do not need to request a vote by mail ballot in Oregon. If you are out of state, you can request an absentee ballot using the online platform or by completing the PDF form with your original, non-digital signature and returning it to your county elections office.

Click here to track your Oregon vote by mail ballot.

To return your Oregon vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it to any official drop box across the state.

ID is not required to vote in Oregon, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

Oregon does not offer in-person early voting.

You can pre-register to vote in Oregon when you turn 16.

Oregon has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Oregon does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania has two types of mail voting: absentee voting, and mail-in voting. Absentee voting requires an approved excuse. All registered voters are eligible for mail-in voting without an excuse.

To request a mail-in ballot in Pennsylvania, apply online, mail an application with your original, non-digital signature to the county election office, or apply in person at the county election office.

To request an absentee ballot in Pennsylvania, apply online, mail an application with your original, non-digital signature to the county election office, or apply in person at the county election office.

Click here to track your Pennsylvania mail-in or absentee ballot.

To return your Pennsylvania mail-in or absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your county election office. A recent judicial decision allows Pennsylvania counties to also use drop boxes; contact your county election office for more information.

ID is required to vote in Pennsylvania only for voters who are voting in a given election district for the first time. Valid forms of ID include:
- Pennsylvania driver’s license or PennDOT ID card
- ID issued by any Commonwealth agency
- ID issued by the U.S. Government
- U.S. passport
- U.S. Armed Forces ID
- Student ID
- Employee ID

If you do not have a photo ID, you can use a non-photo identification that includes your name and address:
- Confirmation issued by the County Voter Registration Office
- Non-photo ID issued by the Commonwealth
- Non-photo ID issued by the U.S. Government
- Firearm permit
- Current utility bill
- Current bank statement
- Current paycheck
- Government check

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. Within seven days after the election, the County Election Office will decide whether you were eligible to vote at the election district where you voted. If they determine you were eligible, they will count your provisional ballot.

Pennsylvania offers in-person absentee voting. Voters may request either a Mail-In or absentee ballot at their county election office. Mail-in ballots do not require an excuse and can be requested by any qualified voter. Absentee ballots require an approved excuse and are only available to those who will be away from their municipality or unable to make it to their polling place on election day.

You can pre-register to vote in Pennsylvania if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Pennsylvania has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Pennsylvania does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Rhode Island

Typically, completed Rhode Island absentee ballots must be witnessed or notarized, but during COVID-19, this requirement is suspended.

An excuse must be provided to vote by mail ballot in Rhode Island, but any excuse can be given.

To request a mail ballot in Rhode Island, deliver a completed application with your original, non-digital signature to the local board of canvassers by mail or in person.

Click here to track your Rhode Island mail ballot.

To return your Rhode Island absentee ballot, mail it back or return it to a ballot drop box. Typically, completed absentee ballots must be witnessed or notarized, but during COVID-19, this requirement is suspended.

Photo ID is required to vote in Rhode Island. Valid forms of ID include:
- RI Driver's License or Permit
- RI Voter ID Card
- U.S. Passport
- ID issued by a U.S. educational institution
- U.S. military ID
- ID card issued by the United States or the State of Rhode Island
- Government issued medical card
- Tribal ID

If you do not have an approved form of ID, the Rhode Island Secretary of State's office will issue you a free voter photo ID card. See the Secretary of State's website for additional information on the program and the documents required to obtain a voter photo ID card, or call (401) 222-2340.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. You will have until the close of business the day after the election to provide information to the Board of Canvassers to help qualify the ballot.

Rhode island offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 20 days before the election and ends the day before.

You can pre-register to vote in Rhode Island when you turn 16.

Rhode Island has semi-open primaries. If you are affiliated with a specific political party, you may only vote in that party’s primary. Unaffiliated (also known as independent) voters can vote in any party primary but, by casting a vote in a party primary, you automatically become affiliated with that party. To return to an unaffiliated status, you may request a “disaffiliation form” from poll workers and fill it out before leaving the polling place. You will officially return to your unaffiliated status in 90 days. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Rhode Island but have not yet registered, you can register and vote for President/Vice-President only at your city or town hall on Election Day. Be sure to register by the deadline to vote in all other elections.

South Carolina

Voters in South Carolina can typically only vote absentee with an approved excuse, but during COVID-19, all voters are eligible to vote absentee under the “State of Emergency” excuse.

To request an absentee ballot in South Carolina, complete, sign, and return the application with your original, non-digital signature to your county voter registration office by email, mail, fax, or personal delivery. If submitting the application via email or fax, a scanned version of the signature is sufficient.

Click here to track your South Carolina absentee ballot.

To return your South Carolina absentee ballot, mail it back or return it to your county voter registration office in person. The absentee ballot comes with an oath that must be signed and addressed by the voter and one witness.

Photo ID is required to vote in South Carolina. Valid forms of ID include:
- SC Driver's License
- SC Department of Motor Vehicles ID Card (includes SC Concealed Weapons Permit)
- SC Voter Registration Card with Photo
- Federal Military ID (includes all Department of Defense Photo IDs and Veterans Affairs Benefits Card)
- US Passport (includes US Passport ID Card)

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can get a free Photo ID from your county voter registration and elections office or your local DMV office. If you're already registered to vote, you can go to your county voter registration and elections office, provide your date of birth and the last four digits of your Social Security Number, and have your photo taken.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may vote a provisional ballot that will count only if you show your Photo ID to the election commission prior to certification of the election (usually Thursday or Friday after the election).

If you can’t get a photo ID, you can bring your voter registration card to polls, vote a provisional ballot, and sign an affidavit stating you have a reasonable impediment to obtaining Photo ID. A reasonable impediment is any valid reason, beyond your control, which created an obstacle to obtaining a photo ID. This ballot will count unless someone proves to the election commission that you are lying about your identity or about having the listed impediment.

South Carolina offers in-person absentee voting. Voters can only vote in-person absentee with an approved excuse. In-person absentee voting begins 30-45 days before an election (as soon as counties have their ballots) and ends at 5:00 PM on the day before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in South Carolina if you will turn 18 by the next election.

South Carolina has open primaries, but you are only allowed to participate in one party’s primary (this affiliation lasts only for primaries, except in the case of a runoff where you must vote the same as you voted in the primary) 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

South Carolina does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

South Dakota

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in South Dakota.

To request an absentee ballot in South Dakota, download and print an absentee ballot application PDF and mail the original application with your non-digital signature to your county auditor. State law requires absentee ballot applications to be notarized or include a photocopy of an acceptable ID.

Click here to track your South Dakota absentee ballot.

To return your South Dakota absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person at your county auditor. Some counties will also have secure drop boxes available.

Photo ID is required to vote in South Dakota, allow you can still vote a regular ballot if you don’t have ID. Valid forms of ID include:
- South Dakota driver's license or nondriver ID card
- U.S. government photo ID (passport is acceptable)
- U.S. Armed Forces ID
- Current student photo identification card from a South Dakota high school or South Dakota accredited institution of higher education
- Tribal photo ID

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can sign a personal identification affidavit and vote a regular ballot.

South Dakota offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Registered voters can vote in-person once Absentee Voting begins at their County Auditor's office.

You can pre-register to vote in South Dakota if you will turn 18 by the next election.

South Dakota has semi-open and closed primaries. Only voters registered with the Republican Party may only vote in that party's primary. Voters registered with the Democratic Party and unaffiliated voters may vote in the Democratic Primary. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

South Dakota does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Tennessee

Voters can typically only vote absentee in Tennessee with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, illness, physical disability, or other underlying health condition that makes one especially vulnerable to COVID-19 is considered an approved excuse. Additionally, following a judicial decision, first-time voters are not required to vote in-person if they meet a legal reason to vote by-mail.

To request an absentee ballot in Tennessee, submit a written request for an absentee ballot or a completed absentee ballot request form with your original, non-digital signature by mail, fax, or email to your local county election commission office.

Click here to track your Tennessee absentee ballot.

To return your Tennessee absentee ballot, you must mail it back.

Photo ID is required to vote in Tennessee. ID may be expired, and valid forms of ID include:
- Tennessee driver license with your photo
- United States Passport
- Photo ID issued by the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security
- Photo ID issued by the federal or Tennessee state government
- United States Military photo ID
- Tennessee handgun carry permit with your photo

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you may obtain a free photo ID from the Department of Safety and Homeland Security at any participating driver service center. You may use the express service line at the driver service center to obtain your photo ID to minimize wait times. To obtain your ID, you will need the following:
- Proof of citizenship (such as a birth certificate)
- Two proofs of Tennessee residency (such as a voter registration card, a utility bill, vehicle registration or title, or bank statement)
- If your name differs from that on your primary ID, proof of the changed name (such as a certified marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc.)
- If you cannot afford a copy of the documents required to obtain a free photo ID, you may sign a form stating under oath that you are indigent and have been unable to obtain an acceptable photo ID for voting without paying a fee.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you will vote a provisional ballot. You will then have two business days after Election Day to return to the election commission office to show a valid photo ID. Upon returning to the election commission office, you will sign an affidavit and a copy of your photo ID will be made to be reviewed by the counting board.

Tennessee offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 20 days before the election and ends five days before the election. Early voting is available on Saturdays but closed on holidays that fall within the time period.

You can pre-register to vote in Tennessee if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Tennessee has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party (Tennessee does not register political party). 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Tennessee does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Texas

Voters can only vote early by mail in Texas with an approved excuse.

To request a vote early by mail ballot in Texas, submit an application to the office of the early voting clerk by mail, email, common or contract carrier, or fax (if a fax machine is available in the clerk’s office). The application must include your original, non-digital signature; if you submit the application by email or fax, you must mail the original application to the clerk within 4 business days.

Click here to track your Texas vote early by mail ballot.

To return your Texas vote early by mail ballot, mail it back or return it to the office of the early voting clerk in person on the day of the election with a valid form of ID.

Photo ID is required to vote in Texas. Valid forms of ID include:
- Texas Driver License issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
- Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
- Texas Personal Identification Card issued by DPS
- Texas Handgun License issued by DPS
- United States Military Identification Card containing the person’s photograph
- United States Citizenship Certificate containing the person’s photograph
- United States Passport (book or card)

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can submit an alternate form of ID along with a Reasonable Impediment Declaration. If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you will be allowed to complete a provisional ballot, and will then need to submit approved ID to the county voter registrar within 6 days for your ballot to be counted.

Texas offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early in person. Early voting generally begins the 17th day before Election Day (if that’s a weekend, early voting starts on Monday) and ends the 4th day before Election Day.

You can pre-register to vote in Texas when you turn 17 years and 10 months old and will be 18 years old by Election Day.

Texas has open primaries. A registered voter can select which primary election they vote in. Once they vote in the primary, they affiliate with that party for the remainder of the year and cannot participate in another party’s primary runoff or convention process. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Texas does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Utah

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Utah. As of 2020, all counties in Utah will conduct vote-by-mail elections, meaning that all registered voters will automatically be sent ballots in the mail. You do not need to request a vote by mail ballot.

Click here to track your Utah vote by mail ballot.

To return your Utah absentee ballot, mail it back or return it to a secure ballot drop box.

ID is required to vote in person in Utah. Valid forms of ID include:
One primary form of ID that is valid (not expired) and has your name and photograph:
- Utah driver license
- ID card issued by the state of Utah or the US Government
- Utah concealed carry permit
- US passport
- Tribal ID card (does not require a photograph)

OR two forms of ID that, when combined, prove your name and current residence:
- Utility bill dated within 90 days of the election
- Bank or other financial account statement
- Certified birth certificate
- Valid Social Security card
- Check issued by the state or federal government
- Currently valid Utah hunting or fishing license
- Currently valid US military ID card
- Certified naturalization documents (NOT a green card)
- Certified copy of court records showing the voter’s adoption or name change
- Bureau of Indian Affairs card
- Tribal treaty card
- Medicaid or Medicare or Electronic Benefits Transfer card
- Currently valid ID card issued by a local government within Utah
- Currently valid ID card issued by an employer
- Currently valid ID card issued by a college, university, technical school, or professional school in Utah
- Current Utah vehicle registration

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you may vote a provisional ballot. The county clerk or election officer will determine the validity of the ballot.

Voting by mail has a different process for verifying voter identification. When voters register to vote for the first time, they are prompted to visit their county clerk's office to provide proof of valid identification. A mail ballot cannot be sent to a first time voter until identification is verified in-person. Once this identification is received and recorded, the voter is eligible to receive a mail ballot and will not need to provide photo identification when voting by mail in future elections.

Each time a voter submits a ballot by mail, the signature on that voter's ballot is verified against the signature that they provided their county clerk with when they initially registered. If the signatures do not match, the clerk reaches out to the voter to request that they appear in-person at the clerk's office to verify proper identification before the ballot can be counted.

Utah offers in-person early voting. Voters cast provisional ballots during early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 14 days before the election and ends the Friday before election.

You can pre-register to vote in Utah when you turn 16.

Utah has semi-open and closed primaries. Only voters registered with the Republican Party may vote in that party's primary for both state and presidential primaries. Voters registered with the Democratic Party and unaffiliated voters may vote in the state Democratic Primary, while all registered voters regardless of party can vote in the presidential Democratic Primary. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Utah but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day. You must provide identification and proof of residence, and you will be able to vote a provisional ballot.

Vermont

In Vermont, the terms “vote by mail” and “absentee voting” refer to the same process.

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Vermont. During COVID-19, all registered voters in Vermont will receive absentee ballots automatically without needing to request them.

To request an absentee ballot in Vermont, you would typically need to complete an online request, or submit a completed paper application to the town clerk’s office by mail or in person.

Click here to track your Vermont absentee ballot.

To return your Vermont absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your town clerk’s office. Your ballot must be received at your clerk’s office by the close of business on the day before Election Day, or returned to your polling place on Election Day.

ID is not required to vote in Vermont. If you are a first-time voter who registered by mail you will have to show ID to vote. Valid forms of ID include:
- Current and valid photo identification or bank statement
- Utility bill
- Government document that contains your name/current address.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can register to vote at your polling place.

Vermont offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins at least 45 days before a primary or general election and at least 20 days before a municipal election and ends the day before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Vermont if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Vermont has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Vermont but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day. You can also register at your town or city clerk's office on days preceding the election during regular business hours and on Election Day during polling hours.

Virginia

No excuse is needed to vote absentee by mail in Virginia.

To request an absentee by mail ballot in Virginia, apply online or submit a completed paper application to your local registrar’s office by mail, fax, or scanned attachment to an email.

Click here to track your Virginia absentee by mail ballot.

To return your Virginia absentee by mail ballot, mail it back or return it in person to your local registrar’s office. Your absentee by mail ballot must be witnessed; although this requirement was waived for the June 2020 Primary Election, it has not yet been waived for the November election.

A form of identification is required to vote in Virginia. Valid forms of ID include:
- Voter confirmation documents you received after you registered to vote
- Virginia DMV-issued Driver’s License or Identification Card
- Valid United States Passport
- Any ID card issued by the US, Virginia, or a local Virginia government
- Any student ID card issued by a US university or community
- Valid student ID issued by a public school or private school in Virginia
- Employer-issued photo ID card
- Any current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document with your name and address
- An ID Confirmation Statement

Voters who arrive at the polls without an acceptable form of ID will be required to either sign an ID Confirmation Statement or vote a provisional ballot. If a voter completes a provisional ballot, they will be given written instructions from the election officials on how to submit a copy of their identification or sign and submit an ID Confirmation Statement so that their vote can be counted.

Voters will then have until noon on the Friday following the election to deliver a copy of the identification or sign and submit an ID Confirmation Statement to the local electoral board. Voters may submit a copy of their ID of ID Confirmation Statement via fax, email, in-person submission, or through USPS or commercial delivery service. Please note that the copy of the ID or signed ID Confirmation Statement must be delivered to the electoral board by noon on the Friday following the election, or the provisional ballot cannot be counted. A Friday postmark will not be sufficient if either of these are not delivered to the electoral board by noon on Friday.

The written notice given to the voter will provide the necessary information, including email, fax, and address where the ID or ID Confirmation Statement should be delivered.

Virginia offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 45 days and ends three days (Saturday) before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Virginia if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Virginia has open primaries. Any registered voter may participate in any political party's primary election. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

Virginia does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Washington

No excuse is needed to vote by mail in Washington. Washington uses a vote-by-mail system for all elections, meaning all registered voters will automatically receive a ballot in the mail without needing to request one. Register to vote or check your registration status to ensure you receive your ballot.

Click here to track your Washington vote by mail ballot.

To return your Washington vote by mail ballot, mail it back or return it to a secure ballot drop box. You can choose to sign a ballot declaration or sign with a mark and have two witnesses attest to the signature.

ID is not required to vote in Washington’s vote-by-mail elections, with the exception of federal Help America Vote Act (HAVA) requirements for first-time voters.

In addition to vote-by-mail, Washington offers an 18-day voting period (through Election Day) and all registered voters may cast their ballot beginning 18 days prior to Election Day at a voting center.

You can pre-register to vote in Washington when you turn 16.

Washington has open presidential primaries. Voters are not asked for party affiliation when registering to vote, and are only asked for a party declaration in presidential primaries -- however, this has no bearing on how a voter may vote in future presidential primaries. For all other primaries, Washington uses a top-two primary system that allows voters to choose among all candidates running for each office. The two candidates who receive the most votes in the Primary Election qualify for the General Election. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Washington but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your vote center during the early voting period and on Election Day.

West Virginia

In West Virginia, the terms “vote by mail,” “absentee voting,” and “absentee voting by mail” refer to the same process. Voters can typically only vote absentee in West Virginia with an approved excuse. During COVID-19, concerns about the pandemic are considered an approved excuse.

To request an absentee ballot in West Virginia, submit an application online through the application portal, or submit a paper application to your county clerk via fax, U.S. mail, email, or hand delivery. Voters must complete the paper application in their own handwriting unless they have a physical disability.

Click here to track your West Virginia absentee ballot.

To return your West Virginia absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person at the local county clerk’s office. Your ballot must be received by the clerk’s office by the day before Election Day.

ID is required to vote in West Virginia. Valid forms of ID include:
- Voter registration card
- Medicare card or Social Security card
- Birth certificate
- WV hunting or fishing license
- WV SNAP ID card
- WV TANF program ID card
- WV Medicaid ID card
- Bank or debit card
- Utility bill or bank statement issued within six months of the date of the election
- Health insurance card issued to the voter
- WV driver’s license or other WV ID card issued by the DMV
- Driver’s license issued by another state
- U.S. passport or passport card
- Military ID card issued by the U.S.
- U.S. or WV Government employee ID card
- Student ID card
- A concealed carry (pistol/revolver) permit

Exemptions to the ID requirement are:
1. Signed, sworn statement by an adult who has known the voter for 6 months or more
2. A poll worker knows the voter
3. Residents of State Care Facilities

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can apply for a free Voter ID Card from your county clerk. Applications must be submitted in person at the county clerk’s office, and voters can choose to be mailed their Voter ID Card or pick them up at the county clerk’s office.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. Before canvass, the provisional ballot signature is compared to the voter’s registration signature. If the signatures match, the vote should count.

West Virginia offers in-person early voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 13 days before an election and ends 3 days before the election day.

You can pre-register to vote in West Virginia if you will turn 18 by the next election.

West Virginia has semi-open primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary, but unaffiliated voters may choose any primary ballot. 17-year-olds can vote in the primary election if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

West Virginia does not offer Election Day registration, so be sure to submit your voter registration before the deadline.

Wisconsin

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Wisconsin.

To request an absentee ballot in Wisconsin, request it online or complete a paper application and mail it to your municipal clerk’s office.

Click here to track your Wisconsin absentee ballot.

To return your Wisconsin absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person at your municipal clerk’s office, your polling place or central count location, or an absentee ballot drop box. You must complete your ballot in the presence of a witness, who must sign the included certificate.

Photo ID is required to vote in Wisconsin. Valid forms of ID include:

The following photo IDs are acceptable for voting purposes, and can be unexpired or expired after the date of the most recent general election (currently, the November 6, 2018 election):
- A Wisconsin DOT-issued driver license, even if driving privileges are revoked or suspended
- A Wisconsin DOT-issued identification card
- A Military ID card issued by the U.S. Uniformed Services (including retired and dependent uniformed service IDs)
- A U.S. passport book or card

The following photo IDs are also acceptable for voting purposes:
- A certificate of naturalization (that was issued no earlier than two years before the date of the election)
- An identification card issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe in Wisconsin (can be expired or unexpired)
- A driver license receipt issued by Wisconsin DOT (valid for 45 days from date issued)
- An identification card receipt issued by Wisconsin DOT (valid for 45 days from date issued)
- A Wisconsin DMV ID Petition Process Photo Receipt (valid for 180 days from date issued)
- A Veteran Affairs ID card (must be unexpired or have no expiration date)
- A photo identification card issued by a Wisconsin accredited university or college, or technical college that contains the following: Date the card was issued, Signature of student, Expiration date no later than two years after date of issuance (card may be expired). The university or college ID must be accompanied by a separate document that proves enrollment, such as a tuition fee receipt, enrollment verification letter, or class schedule. Enrollment verification document can be shown electronically.

If you do not have an approved form of ID, you can get a free state ID card. You will need to show proof of identity, proof of citizenship or legal status, proof of Wisconsin residency, and proof of name and date of birth.

If you go to your polling place without an approved form of ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. You must present proof of identification to the municipal clerk no later than 4:00 p.m. Friday.

Wisconsin offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. The dates and hours of in-person absentee voting are set by each municipality, and may differ. To find the dates and hours for in-person absentee voting where you live, contact your municipal clerk.

You can pre-register to vote in Wisconsin if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Wisconsin has open primaries. Any registered voter can participate in primary elections, regardless of political party. 17-year-olds cannot vote in the primary election even if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Wisconsin but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at your polling place on Election Day.

Wyoming

No excuse is needed to vote absentee in Wyoming.

To request an absentee ballot in Wyoming, call your county clerk, print and fill out the application and mail it to your county clerk, email your county clerk with “Absentee Ballot Request” in the subject line, or request an absentee ballot in person at your county clerk’s office.

To return your Wyoming absentee ballot, mail it back or return it in person at the local county clerk’s office.

ID is not required to vote in Wyoming. However, if you registered by mail and are voting in a federal election for the first time, you must show photo ID or a document that has both your name and residence address. Valid forms of ID include:

One of the following:
- United States Passport
- Valid driver’s license or ID card issued by any state
- ID issued by a federal, state or local government/agency
- Photo ID card issued by the University of Wyoming, a Wyoming community college, or a Wyoming public school
- United States Military ID
- ID card issued to a Dependent of a member of the United States Armed Forces.

OR any two or more of the following:
- Certification of United States Citizenship
- Certificate of Naturalization
- United States Military Draft Record
- Voter’s Registration Card from another State or County
- United States Social Security Card
- Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the Department of State
Original or certified copy of a birth certificate bearing an official seal
- Any other form of identification issued by an official agency of the U.S. or a State

In the event of a challenge, if the residence address is not included in the document or if it is not current, then you may be required to produce other documentation of your residence address. In the event of a challenge, the following documents, showing your name and address, are acceptable proof of identity and residency:
- Current utility bill
- Current bank statement;
- Current government check;
- Current paycheck; or
- Any other current government document showing your name and address.

If you are refused the right to vote, you may vote a provisional ballot. In order for your vote to be counted, you must provide proof of your eligibility to vote to the county clerk no later than close of business the day following the election.

Wyoming offers in-person absentee voting. No excuse is needed to vote early. Early voting begins 40 days before the election and ends the day before the election.

You can pre-register to vote in Wyoming if you will turn 18 by the next election.

Wyoming has closed primaries. Voters registered with a particular party may only vote in that party's primary. However, voters can change their party affiliation on Election Day. 17-year-olds can participate in the Democratic presidential caucus if they will be 18 by the corresponding general election.

If you’re eligible to vote in Wyoming but have not yet registered, you can register and vote at the office of the county clerk during the two week period after the registration deadline or at your polling place on Election Day.